Healthy pork and mushroom gravy!

Tonight I made an awesome pork dish. I’m really big into gravy and sauces, which can be bad for you and full of sodium. Unfortunately I grew up on Lipton French onion soup packet gravy, or McCormick brown gravy both LOADED with bad things, tons of salt and so much sodium. But so delicious. So I was pretty excited about this recipe!

What I needed was:
Package of organic pork chops (mine had 5, I got them at Walmart)

1/3 cup chicken stock 

1/3 cup beef stock (I used broth it’s all I had)

1/4 cup flour

1 lb mushrooms cut up

1 thinly sliced onion

Salt and pepper to taste

I started by searing both sides of my pork chops for about 2-3 min each and removing them and covering to keep warm.

Then I browned the onions and mushrooms about 5 min. After, I dumped the flour in and stirred until it was dissolved.

I then poured the stocks in and let it simmer and placed the chops back in the pan on low simmering about 15 min until the pork was done.

I sprinkled salt and pepper on everything through out cooking (I use pink salt for everything) and served this over brown rice. The bf liked it but dumped worstechire sauce on his. He’s not as much of a gravy lover as me. It was delish though and had enough left for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

