Healthy Meatloaf

Tonight I came up with an awesome couple of recipes for dinner! I had enough for both of our dinners and lunches tomorrow, and my mom even tried it, loved it, and snagged the rest for her lunch tomorrow!

For the meatloaf I bought two packages of Walmart organic ground beef for $4.98 each. It’s slightly expensive but so very worth not loading up on the hormones and additives ESPECIALLY if you have something like PCOS or dietary restrictions.

Everything else I needed:

1/3 cup shredded zucchini

1/3 cup shredded carrot

1 cup gluten free bread crumbs

1 finely chopped green bell pepper

1 finely chopped sweet onion

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon chopped garlic 

Salt and pepper to taste

First I cooked the peppers and onions in olive oil then added the garlic and the end until everything was cooked through.

In a bowl I mixed eggs, bread crumbs, onions and peppers, salt and pepper, beef, and shredded zucchini and carrots, then mixed with my hands. (I used a handheld grater to do the carrots and zucchini, didn’t buy them already shredded)

I placed the loaf in a meatloaf pan and baked at 400 degrees for 35-40 min. The directions called for 25, but the middle just wasn’t done. I ended up nuking mine and the boyfriends pieces for two min in the microwave  and finished it off in the oven.

For the topping I mixed ketchup and worstechire sauce and it was delicious! Saltier than the normal brown sugar topping, but that’s exactly how I like it.

Definitely a wonderful healthy alternative to your typical meatloaf. And I served with mashed cauliflower which was AWESOME! I will post that recipe/experience later 🙂 enjoy!

Leave a Reply

