Mashed Cauliflower

So last night to go with my meatloaf I was craving mashed potatoes. But being diagnosed with PCOS and being insulin resistant I knew that wasn’t a healthy option. So I did some googling and found mashed cauliflower was a good substitute and I loooove cauliflower. And it was so simple. Of course I had to substitute though, and It came out kind of runny but the taste was there and now I know what not to do for next time!

I needed:

A decent sized head of cauliflower

1/3 cup non fat buttermilk (I didn’t have this so I ended up substituting 1 cup of milk and a teaspoon of vinegar. Less milk would’ve been less runny.)

Salt and pepper to taste

Garlic powder to taste (or minced garlic)

4 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

I first chopped the cauliflower and steamed it in my microwave with 1/4 cup of water (time was of the essence) and drained it. I then poured everything else in and mashed it with a hand held purée. I’m thinking if I used a hand masher or less milk it would’ve been less runny. But it still tastes great and the boyfriend approved 🙂

Leave a Reply

